





Initial Licensure in Nevada

- For
 - Physical Therapists and
 - Physical Therapist's Assistants







Please review entire presentation and confirm deadlines and requirements *prior to starting* the application process.

All information within can be found at: www.ptboard.nv.gov







Overview

- Complete State application
 - Fingerprinting
 - Transcripts
 - Letters of recommendation
 - Picture
 - Jurisprudence exam
 - Notarized Application
 - Application Fee
- Apply for NPTE
- Reserve a spot via Prometric







You may sit for the NPTE and apply for Licensure prior to graduation IF:

You can provide an official transcript from your physical therapy school that indicates that you are in the last semester of school and have filed a completed application with the Board

A letter from the school will not be accepted







Application can be found online at:

www.ptboard.nv.gov/PT-Licensing.htm

Actual application is 4 pages long in addition to the requirements detailed on the following slides







- Email: ptapplication@govmail.state.nv.us
 - For information on fingerprinting procedure
 - Include full name and email address
 - Fingerprinting costs \$38.25 plus any processing fee from the facility







- Fingerprinting results take <u>approximately</u>:
 - 2-4 weeks if submitted electronically
 - Can only be submitted electronically if done in Nevada
 - 4-6 weeks if submitted manually
- NOTE: You are encouraged to start this process as soon as possible, prior to filing the licensure application. Fingerprinting expires after 6 months unless an application is received, so be mindful of these times.







- Applicants for Physical Therapy require transcripts from ALL colleges attended
- Applicants for Physical Therapist's Assistant require transcripts from High School AND from ALL colleges attended
- For college information,

Require transcripts even if no degree was received







- Only official <u>sealed</u> transcripts will be accepted
- Send them to yourself and include them when you file your application
- -OR-
- Send directly to the board







- Three letters of recommendation are required
- All must be submitted in <u>sealed</u> envelopes
- Two letters must be from PT's
- PTA applicants can submit 1 letter from a PTA
- One letter must be a personal letter







- 2 letters from PT's must:
 - Be from licensed PT's, not related to you by blood/marriage and not a professor at school
 - Be addressed to the Board
 - Include start/end date of work with individual
 - Speak to the clinical skills of the applicant
 - Be typed, dated and signed
 - Include a phone #
 - Professional letterhead requested, but not required







- 1 letter from a personal reference must:
 - Be dated, signed and include a phone number
 - Address your moral character
 - NOT talk about your clinical skills
 - NOT be from a professor, educator or classmate
 - NOT be related to you by blood/marriage
- Typed letters are preferred







- Application must include a photo
- Sized between a 2x2 and 3x3
- Passport photos work best
- Must be taken within 60 days of submitting application







- Jurisprudence examination
 - Provided with application, completed at home
 - Review the entire Nevada Practice Act
 - Can be found at: <u>www.ptboard.nv.gov/</u> under the "Practice Act" tab
 - Be sure to review both the Nevada Revised Statutes (NRS) and the Nevada Administrative Code (NAC)
- Complete and submit with application

 Must get a minimum of 15/20 correct to pass







- If you have, or have had, licenses for any healthcare field you must use the form in the application to verify those licenses.
 - See application for detailed instructions
- If you are applying for "Graduate Status" so you may work prior to taking the NPTE you **must** submit the application for "Graduate of Physical Therapy". This form can be submitted at any time. Graduate Status cannot be considered until:
 - Your degree has posted to your transcript and an updated transcript is received by the board
 - Your fingerprint results are delivered to the board and reflect no activity
 - The rest of your application has been submitted and accepted







- Licensing application:
 - Physical Therapists = \$325
 - Physical Therapist's Assistants = \$225
- Payable directly to Nevada State Board of Physical Therapy
 - Personal check, cashier's check or money order
 - NO credit cards or cash







- The final step before submitting the State application is applying for the NPTE
 - The state application can be mailed in or submitted in person at:

Nevada State Board of Physical Therapy Examiners 7570 Norman Rockwell Lane, Suite 230 Las Vegas, NV 89143

DO NOT SUBMIT STATE APPLICATION UNTIL YOU HAVE REGISTERED FOR THE NPTE







- All information pertaining to the NPTE can be found at:
 - Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy (FSBPT) – Exam Candidates page

Click here to visit the page







- Four fixed test dates for PT's and PTA's per year, generally:
 - January
 - April
 - July
 - October

• NOTE: Test dates are DIFFERENT for PT's and PTA's and may change from year to year, be sure to check online for updated test dates and the deadlines associated with each test date







- Register online at the FSBPT website provided above, be sure to select the appropriate test PT vs PTA
- Fee's are:
 - Physical Therapist =

- \$400 \$400
- Physical Therapist Assistant =







- Once registered via FSBPT:
 - Submit your State Board application either in person or via mail
 - State Board will review your application and contact you if anything needs to be adjusted, updated or changed
 - State Board will contact the FSBPT to authorize your registration for the NPTE once all items have been received
 - FSBPT will email you the Authorization To Test (ATT) letter







- Once you receive the ATT in your email:
 - You must reserve a seat at a Prometric testing center at the following website:
 - www.prometric.com/fsbpt
 - NOTE: Your spot is <u>NOT</u> reserved or confirmed until you reserve a seat via Prometric
- Fee's for reserving a seat:
 - Both PT's and PTA's = \$85







- Prometric will have specific instructions on ID's to bring for the testing as well as other information pertaining to the day of the test
- Once you have taken the NPTE the results are automatically sent to the State Board one week after the test date
- DO NOT CONTACT THE BOARD ABOUT YOUR TEST RESULTS
- The FSBPT provides you with a Pass/Fail notice and information on how to secure a score report for free
- If you pass, your license will be issued in <u>approximately</u> 2-5 days from the date the Board receives your results, provided your fingerprinting results do not reflect any activity







- If you do not pass the NPTE on the first attempt:
 - You may take it once more
 - After 2 attempts, you must meet with the Nevada State Board of Physical Therapy Examiners before you can test again
 - Be advised that the NPTE will be limited to a maximum of 6 attempts effective January 2016