Physical Therapy Board

CORONAVIRUS DISEASE 2019 (COVID-19) LICENSEE UPDATE

Temporary Licensure Exemption

A. EXEMPTIONS

A temporary licensure exemption is available to certain applicants that qualify for the exemption pursuant to Nevada Revised Statute (NRS) Chapter 640 (see NRS 640.120 and NRS 640.135).

1. Temporary License for Medical Emergency (NRS 640.120(1))

The Board may issue, without examination, a license to practice as a physical therapist or physical therapist assistant for a period not to exceed 6 months to any person who meets all the other qualifications set forth in NRS 640.080 or 640.092, as applicable, upon certification that the person has been assigned to the State of Nevada on a temporary basis to assist in a medical emergency. Issuance of the temporary license is subject to such fees, not to exceed \$100, and conditions as the Board may require.

2. Temporary Exemption from Licensing During Clinical Training of Student of Physical Therapy (NRS 640.120(2))

A student who is enrolled in a program of professional education for physical therapists or physical therapist assistants approved by the Board is not required to be licensed to work under the supervision of a physical therapist who is present on-site to satisfy a requirement of that program. (NRS 640.120). To qualify, the student must be enrolled in a curriculum approved by the Board.

3. Temporary Exemption for Physical Therapy Graduate Who Has Not Taken the NPTE (NRS 640.120(3))

A person who has applied for licensure as a physical therapist or physical therapist assistant and who meets the qualifications set forth in NRS 640.080 or 640.092, except subsection 3 of NRS 640.080 or subsection 4 of NRS 640.092, as applicable, is temporarily exempt from licensure and may practice physical therapist or as a physical therapist assistant, as applicable, during the period of the temporary exemption.

a. Graduate Status Designation

May 13, 2020 Page 1 | 2

i. Grad Status designation is issued only after all requirements for licensure has been met with the exception of a score report from the NPTE, and the appropriate application has been submitted. Note: Registration for the NPTE must be verifiable before a Grad Status designation is approved. Note: The Graduate is considered an unlicensed person.

b. Qualifications

Applicants wishing to be considered for Grad Status must provide the following:

- i. Completed application for licensure as a physical therapist or physical therapist assistant.
- ii. Request for designation as a Graduate of Physical Therapy for the physical therapist or physical therapist assistant, including an affidavit completed by the supervising physical therapist licensed in the State of Nevada.
- iii. Copy of transcripts with degree posted.
- iv. Fingerprints with returned results from the FBI.
- v. A scheduled NPTE (exam) with FSBPT.

c. Additional requirements for Grad Status

- i. Applicant has not previously failed an examination for licensure as a physical therapist or physical therapist assistant.
- ii. Applicant must have on-site supervision, and practice under the supervision of a licensed Nevada physical therapist when providing physical therapy services.
- iii. Applicant must comply with all provisions of NRS chapter 640, Nevada Administrative Code (NAC) chapter 640 of the Board, and any other requirements to practice physical therapy during the period of the temporary exemption.
- iv. During the period of the temporary exemption, the licensee:
 - a) Shall not use as his or her title or professional credentials any words, letters or insignia except for the words "graduate of physical therapy," "P.T.A." or "Physical Therapist Assistant," as applicable.
 - b) Is subject to the regulatory and disciplinary authority of the Board to the same extent as a licensed physical therapist or licensed physical therapist assistant, as applicable.

d. Temporary License Period

Grad Status designation begins on the date on which the Board notifies the person that he or she may practice physical therapy or as a physical therapist assistant, as applicable, under the temporary exemption and continues until the date of the examination or until the date on which the Board notifies the person of the results of the examination.

May 13, 2020 Page 2 | 2